How TrishnaJewelry was Born

From my collection: Antique blood red 2mm white hearts and thai sterling oms.

From my collection: Antique blood red 2mm white hearts and Thai sterling oms.

“Desire That Moves One to a Heart Place” is our store slogan. I tend to wear icons that are meaningful to me for days as a sort of wearable altar.  I wanted to find great jewelry that I could wear I with both the little black dress and jeans and swirling hippie skirts.  Tibetan necklaces straight from Nepal just didn’t look right with business clothes, and I didn’t want the piece on a chain or silk cord, which I found a bit boring (no offense, but I like color and style.)

As a practitioner, I found wearing images dear to my heart more satisfying than wearing plain jewelry.

From my collection: Shakyamuni on vintage orange white hearts, layered with oms and floral doo-dahs on  modern French white hearts and pearl.

From my collection: Shakyamuni on vintage orange white hearts, layered with Thai sterling oms and floral doo-dahs on modern French white hearts and pearl.
The difference in the old and new is seen best close-up, as the older white hearts have a rounded soft brilliant appearance and you can’t see the white edges.

I began with simple brilliant gemstones or vintage and antique beads, and the best amulets of images, bought from the folks that make them. Layering of several of my favorite images was the answer for everyday (I dress in seven scarves or jeans ‘n tees) and then I would take all off all but one for conservative meetings.

Fair trade and sustainability are important to me, and so I seek out unusual affordable pendants from smaller designers.  I haven’t found an answer to many types of gemstones, but I always chose Indian if I have an option for mass-produced gems over Chinese because typically their labor practices are a bit better.   Also, no coral unless it is reclaimed (I search junk shops for old necklaces.)  I don’t know how to run a business without crossing some of these lines (I am typing on a computer, after all) but I search and make choices when I can.

Thai silver pendants on primitive amethyst; I like using primitive materials.  They are a bit less expensive and looked appropriate with some of the tribal pieces.

Thai silver pendants on primitive amethyst; I like using primitive materials. They are a bit less expensive and looked appropriate with some of the tribal pieces.

After I had my line started, my husband Mitchell wanted a MahaDurgha (great goddess of the Hindu traditions) medal on antique red white hearts; this was the beginning of the Men’s Line, and he is my go-to man for “would a man wear this?”

Our line is ready for the holiday rush in its seventh year, and we are selling on two platforms, zibbet and etsy.  We will do custom orders, but the closer we get to the holidays this becomes harder, and great pendants can’t just be bought online!  Contact me  directly for custom orders.

Mitchell at work wearing his MahaDurgha pendant.

Mitchell at work at MPF Conservation (our business) wearing his MahaDurgha pendant.

My images/blog posts can be reposted as long there is a link back to trishnajewelry.
All images  ©D.Katie Powell.
Permission must be granted to use my images unless they are embedded in a blog post.

About dkatiepowellart

hollywood baby turned beach gurl turned steel&glass city gurl turned cowgurl turned herb gurl turned green city gurl. . . artist writer photographer. . . cat lover but misses our big dogs, gone to heaven. . . buddhist and interested in the study of spiritual traditions. . . foodie, organic, lover of all things mik, partner in conservation business mpfconservation, consummate blogger, making a dream happen, insomniac who is either reading buddhist teachings or not-so-bloody mysteries or autobio journal thangs early in the morning when i can't sleep
This entry was posted in buddhist, goddess, spiritual, sustainable, vedic/hindu, women and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

