Finding a Sustainable Platform From Which to Sell

I have been selling my jewelry items on Etsy since 2009; beaded items and pendants from Nepal and Thai silver.  I was so happy with Etsy that I also opened a shop to sell my art.

If you follow my other blog you know that I have been involved in healthy sustainable movement for half my life.  It affects choices I make in my art as well — what beads I buy, who I buy from, etc.  Granted sometimes there are not viable alternative and/or I didn’t have all the info, but I keep working on it.

I chose Etsy because it was a certified B Corp business.  From their site:

“B Corp certification is to sustainable business what Fair Trade certification is to coffee or USDA Organic certification is to milk.
B Corps are certified by the nonprofit B Lab to meet rigorous standards of social and environmental performance, accountability, and transparency.
Today, there is a growing community of more than 760 Certified B Corps from 27 countries and 60 industries working together toward 1 unifying goal: to redefine success in business.”

Now Etsy has decided to change its rules, allowing large sweatshop manufacturers to qualify as handmade.  I disagree.  The notion of handmade is not a bunch of children sitting in a factory sweatshop under unhealthy conditions.   I have no bone to pick with family businesses where children are being raised to work in the business (thai silver, or more specifically, Hill Tribe silver is an example), but the huge abuses in the jewelry industry (and others) are not something I want to be involved with.  This is how I chose my pendants.

On top of which, under the new CEO’s guidance, sellers like me are “permamuted” (this is what the seller subculture calls it) or silenced from speaking out when you politely but forcefully argue that something is not right business.   I’ve been warned; I am wearing this like a badge of being in the cool kids club.  If you keep it up, eventually you get booted off Etsy altogether.  Not for screwing your customers, not for falsifying information, but for disagreeing with policy in an appropriate forum for said purposes.

So, at great expense, I am moving my jewelry business to zibbet, as a starting place.  It will take a few months for everything to be transferred over.  I interviewed the owners, and they answered my questions quickly (from Down Under), and shared most of my values.  Jonathan was open handed about the issues they face.  Come find me there!

My images/blog posts can be reposted as long there is a link back to trishnajewelry.
All images  ©D.Katie Powell.
Permission must be granted to use my images unless they are embedded in a blog post.

About dkatiepowellart

hollywood baby turned beach gurl turned steel&glass city gurl turned cowgurl turned herb gurl turned green city gurl. . . artist writer photographer. . . cat lover but misses our big dogs, gone to heaven. . . buddhist and interested in the study of spiritual traditions. . . foodie, organic, lover of all things mik, partner in conservation business mpfconservation, consummate blogger, making a dream happen, insomniac who is either reading buddhist teachings or not-so-bloody mysteries or autobio journal thangs early in the morning when i can't sleep
This entry was posted in men, spiritual, sustainable, women and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Finding a Sustainable Platform From Which to Sell

  1. Great post. I, too, have taken the Zibbet plunge and have found the waters much nicer over here. 🙂

Leave a Reply

